How Metro News More Than Tripled Facebook Fans in 30 Days

How Metro News More Than Tripled Facebook Fans in 30 Days

Case Study Overview

Publisher Metro News (Canada) launched a campaign to promote their Facebook pages in Windsor, Hamilton, Victoria, and Kitchener, they turned to us to deliver new likes and encourage downloads for their new iPad app. Their goal was to reach 1,000 likes in each market during a four-week promotion.

The Promotion

To publicize the new iPad app, a giveaway to win a new iPad was launched on all four Facebook pages.

We encouraged app downloads in an aggressive on-line and email campaign to each entrant, emphasizing Metro News core value of local, community-based content available in the new app.

To raise awareness, we built and managed a Facebook ad campaign targeting residents of each community.

The Results

This 30-day campaign exceeded all goals for each of the four markets in less than 3 weeks. The targeted ad campaign worked in attracting entrants. From there, entrants spread the message virally through their social networks and contacts with our convenient feature that awards extra entries for sharing.

At the end of the campaign, results exceeded expectation by more than 40%!

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Sales: Measurable Results

Sales: Measurable Results

When advertisers consider what to offer in their promotion strategy, there’s almost always a conversation about the value of the type of person that responds to a special offer or giveaway.

Using the power of incentive (coupons, discounts, free gifts, or a chance to win) are all important tactics in a marketing strategy. It provides an introduction to a brand or product, leading to sampling, sales and long-term loyalty.

Giveaways and contests are easy and fast to implement, provide results in real time, are cost-effective and deliver measurable, accountable return on investment (ROI).

Sandra Fathi, President of Affect Strategies, says:

I have yet to find an organization — business-to-business or business-to-consumer — that would not benefit from some type of online contest.

One of Sandra’s clients, Cedarlane Natural Foods, increased brand awareness by raising Cedarlane’s visibility on their website and on Facebook. Matthew Gillespie, Director of Trade & Sales Planning, explains:

Our goal was for Facebook feedback to help generate leads and for Web visits to build awareness of the variety and advantages of the Cedarlane product.

They ran two types of promotions, a simple contest with a small prize, and a more complex contest with larger prizes. The result?

[We] more than doubled our email database, and, social media and Web traffic increased both in frequency and engagement by allowing customers to sign up to receive updates about future contests via their newsletter.

In other words, they increased awareness, introduced their brand directly to new contacts and identified new leads. Entrants participated for selfish reasons (to win a prize) and in the process, new customers came into the sales channel!

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The Value of Facebook Fans

The Value of Facebook Fans

“Get more Likes” is a battle cry rising from businesses of all sizes. A strategy that expands the reach of your brand by increasing your fan base is critical for business success on Facebook.

While not the only consideration for a social strategy, the more that “like” you, the greater your influence across their network of friends. You may have 1,000 fans, but each has hundreds of friends who can see the content they interact with. (Note: According the Pew Research, the average Facebook account has 229 friends).

Further, advertisers continue to obsess about driving their Facebook likes. And you can help them!

Interactive Promotions Drive Likes

One of the challenges in attracting Likes is finding a reason to click that little blue button. Many brands lack an emotional connection. It’s not natural to go out of your way to “Like” a hotel page without a stimulus to become part of the social community.

This is where promotional offers can be very effective. Offering a sweepstakes, contest or other incentive is a powerful motivator. We can publish your promotion on your page behind a Like-gate. In order to participate, users must first “Like” your page.

Using marketing messages to drive traffic to your offer, this strategy can increase your fan base dramatically. One of our clients, a local auto dealer, increased fans by 1,100% in less than two weeks.

Turning Facebook Likes to Prospects

Increasing the number of fans is great, but it isn’t enough to drive business results. It’s critical to engage your new contacts. That starts when you collect contact information to communicate without having to count on them seeing posts in their Facebook feed. When they enter your Facebook promotion, you now have a direct contact.

Of course, contacts are not the same as customers. Only a percentage of Facebook fans will become long-term customers. An important step in the process is to identify respondents with the right analytics. What is their age? Gender? Education level? Occupation? Geographic location? Local businesses can also benefit from geo-targeting, reaching only people that are in their marketing or service area.

When they enter a promotion, you gather rich, detailed information about each individual. With the data harvested from embedded survey questions, you’ll quickly identify the most valuable prospects so you can invest your time and resources in those most likely to become loyal customers.

Turnig Prospects into Customers

Once you’ve sorted your list to focus on high value prospects, you’re able to promote offers and tailor messages to specific segments of your audience, based on data in the survey questions.

It’s easy to adjust strategies to target subsets quickly and easily. For example, a furniture retailer could target consumers interested in a kitchen remodel with an appropriate message, while delivering a separate message to those shopping for dining room furniture.

This strategy is a highly effective and efficient method of leading prospects into a deeper relationship with your brand.

Conclusion

A vibrant, active social media community is a valuable asset for any brand, and incentives to “Like” your page is an effective, cost-efficient way to establish your social presence.

Once you’ve earned the Facebook click, and gathered their personal information, nurture these leads with customized communication based on their interests and tastes to convert fans into customers.

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The Power of Radio Promotion

The Power of Radio Promotion

Mark Kasoff is an excellent researcher, and a smart guy, and I don’t say that just because of the findings in his new study on the attitudes and behavior of radio listeners regarding contests.

In his article, Listeners Surprisingly Positive on Contests, Mark points to the growing power of interactive promotions that we’ve observed for the last few years. He says,

I’ve never pushed contesting as a panacea for (radio) stations. A good contest can’t make a bad station successful… Yes, contests can be a real edge for a station, and for traditional radio in general.”

Kasoff’s survey of 18-64 year old radio listeners supports the conclusions of consultant Alan Burns, and provides another reason for broadcasters to increase their attention on this traditional radio advantage.

His findings prove that contests: a) make a station more interesting to listen to, and b) positively affect at least 1/3 of the audience to listen more almost no downside risk.

Kasoff says,

I’m blown away by these numbers. Even if we toss in the requisite ‘grain of salt’, there’s no conclusion other than contesting can be a very good thing!

And, check this out: 12% agree a lot with the statement: You would listen to a station you don’t like just for a chance to win its contest!

Combine this information with the Burns observation that contest players are 55% more likely to participate with a radio ratings service, and you begin to understand the value of having a relationship with “contest types.”

We conducted our own research with embedded survey questions in (enter to win) giveaways. In one market, we found 689 entrants who said that they were currently participating in a radio service that asks you to record your radio listening.

Kasoff concludes:

It’s true that contests have no impact on the majority of listeners’ interest in a station, or how much they listen to it. But there remains a substantial percentage that are impacted by contests, and in an overwhelmingly positive way.

Better yet: Those that are affected, are precisely the ones you want and need to reach.

Though Kasoff and Burns stop short of suggesting tactics for engaging these high value respondents, they both likely would support an aggressive on-air contesting strategy.

We agree with that premise, but take it one step further: What if you had a direct, one-to-one relationship with those folks, and could communicate with them at any time in a series of connected, interactive promotions that led them back to specific appointment tune in occasions? Day after day, week after week?

WP Hatch can help you find them and recruit them as high value listener respondents. Contact us to get started.

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Online database sales lead calculator

Sales Lead Calculator

Many businesses struggle with how to measure the value of their advertising. This tool will help you show advertisers how to evaluate campaign effectiveness based on real dollars earned!

First, let’s define what is and isn’t a “lead.” Not every entrant is a lead. Some just enter to get a prize. We define them as “contacts.” They have value, as some may become interested prospects at some point, but they’re not as valuable as someone who is ready to buy now!

Some promotions generate more leads than others. For example, there will be more entrants interested in trying a new sandwich at a chain of delis than those interested in pursuing a career at a school specializing in nursing. But the value of a new student is far more valuable than someone who wants to buy a sandwich. So how can you figure out your campaign’s success?

The formula is: (TL x CR) X APP X PM / TL

Here’s what it means

Total Number of Qualified Leads generated (TL)

Multiply by Conversion Rate (a percentage) (CR)

This produces the total number of expected sales from this campaign.

Multiply by Average Purchase Price (APP)

This produces the gross revenue generated by the campaign. But now we need to figure out how much it’s worth:

Multiply by your company’s Profit Margin (PM)

Now you know the gross profit expected to be realized. Note: if you subtract your cost of the promotion from this number, you have your net profit for the promotion.

Divide by Total Number of Leads 
(TL).

Now you know the Lead Value (LV), how much each individual lead is worth.

How it works in the real world

A furniture company ran a four week sweepstakes to win a patio furniture set that attracted over 3,000 entries (contacts). Based on the embedded survey questions, the company found:

TL (Total Leads): 689 (homeowners interested in remodeling at least one room, and were interested in meeting with the company’s interior design team)

CR (Conversion Rate): 15% (689*.15=103 expected customers)

APP (Average Purchase Price): $10,000 (103*10,000=$1,033,500)

PM (Profit Margin): 46%

GP (Gross Profit): $475,410 ($1,033,500 * .46 = $475,410)

LV (Lead Value): GP / TL (475,410 / 689) = $690

After adjusting for leads that don’t pan out, they could afford to pay nearly $700 per lead based on immediate value, but there are other considerations.

Lifetime Value: What percentage of the leads become repeat customers? For some businesses (Dentists, for example) the majority of customers return again and again.

Referrals: If new customers refer others to your business, the lead is even more valuable, as one new customer brings in more.

Latent Value: Some leads will convert into customers later, and some contacts may become leads as their interests and situation changes.

If you want to get even more detailed, you can calculate contact value by simply dividing your expected profit by the total number of entries. In this example:

$476,410 / 3000 = $158.47 per entry!

Lead generation is one of the fastest growing areas of marketing and promotion, and once you understand how it works, it’s easy to see why.

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Using Online Promotions and Giveaways to Get to Know Your Audience

Using Online Promotions and Giveaways to Get to Know Your Audience

Data has been described as the new gold. Generating qualified respondents relies on accurate, actionable data, and gathering that information is about knowing what to ask, how to ask it, and making it worth listener’s time to respond.

If you ask it the right way, you can learn virtually anything about your audience. Do you need to know how your radio station is perceived against competitors? We can do that. What other stations do they listen to? No problem. When and why do they tune out? And what unique features on your station bring them back? Do they listen at work? The possibilities are endless.

By extending promotion offers beyond your current audience, we can even identify those prospects who may not listen now, but fit your station target audience. With a direct relationship, you can lead them to tune-in sampling.

Does it work? Yes! In a recent promotion for one of our clients, 97% of all entrants answered at least three questions, resulting in over 8,200 responses, each a prospective new listener that could deliver 1/4 hours indefinitely, if you manage the database properly and invite them to participate based on their interests.

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Using a Smart Database to Increase Radio Ratings

Using a Smart Database to Increase Radio Ratings

What if you could know everything about your listener?

When they listen. Their music preference. Why they listen. What they do in their spare time. The prizes they want to win. Their relationship status. Where they work. When they work.

With knowledge of their tastes, behavior and perceptions, your messages can be targeted specifically to an individual in a deeply personal way.

By leveraging the power of digital tools, social media and mobile engagement, our techniques develop smart profiles that identify characteristics and lead to a direct, one-to-one relationship with your audience…and even better: Potential listeners who may not have discovered you yet!

Armed with actionable, meaningful data, direct marketing tactics will cause ratings to soar. One client increased 1/4 hour share by 26% in just six weeks. 

That’s not just a smart database, it’s smart marketing. And it fits perfectly into your existing programming.

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Why Email Marketing is Critical To Success

Why Email Marketing is Critical To Success

Almost every adult checks their email every single day. According to data, the figure ranges from 88% to as much as 95%. That’s more than visit any other platform, including Facebook!

Of course, competition for space in the inbox is fierce, but email remains an inexpensive and critical means of communicating to fans and potential fans. So here’s why YOU should care about growing your database:

  1. You Own It. Facebook Likes and Twitter followers are in other platforms. Their reach is powerful, but it’s mediated by a third party. The email addresses are yours forever, and nobody can take them away from you by changing policies or denying access.
  2. Personal Connections. Your email list is a goldmine, if you use it properly. It allows you to understand listeners and their preferences. Targeting relevant messages to the right people is virtually unmatched with email marketing, if you take the time to gather the right data first.
  3. Email is Effective. Facebook reach (the number of fans who actually see posts in their News Feed) is only 6%. Targeted, relevant email open rates are usually in the 20-30% range, some even higher. Your message is 5 times more likely to be seen in an email than on Facebook!
  4. Email Drives Response. 2/3 of online customers make purchases as a result of email. Delivering the right message with an attractive offer delivers results.
  5. It’s Easy to Do. It’s not that expensive to design and send emails. And, with the right message, you can send them frequently.
  6. It’s a Profit Center. By extending your reach to advertisers, and helping them find new customers, your email list becomes a new media, with tremendous revenue potential.

As part of our digital strategies, we help you build smart databases – and make the most of them by. As your database grows, your response rates increase and revenue skyrockets. Let us help you get started!

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